Years 10 / 11 GCSEs

The GCSE curriculum for Years 10 & 11 at Barnard Castle School comprises a common core of subjects taken by all pupils, to which are added three option subjects of the pupil’s own choice. This is designed to equip all pupils with the qualifications needed for future study and employ- ment whilst enabling them also to develop their own strengths and interests. Please click on the subject links for syllabus information.

Core Subjects
All pupils study the following subjects to GCSE level:

Option Subjects
Pupils select three other GCSE subjects:

Non-Examined Subjects
Personal, Social and Health Education

Examination Boards and Codes
There are four national examination boards in England and Wales: AQA, Pearson (Edexcel), OCR and WJEC. Further information is obtainable from the examination boards’ own websites. In addition, some of our departments offer International GCSEs, often through Cambridge University’s Cambridge International Exams (CIE).