skip to main navigation | skip to main content


Chairman: Mr A Fielder

Vice Chairman: Mrs C J Sunley JP and Mr P Mothersill

Chair of House & Finance sub-committee: Mrs C Sunley
Chair of Education & Welfare sub-committee: Mrs R Dent JP
Chair of Estates & Development sub-committee: Mr D C Osborne

Mr M Airey
Col D Clouston
Mr S Crowe
Mr M H Crosby JP
Mr C Dennis
Dr J Elphick
Mr B Hick
Mr P Hodges
Mr M McCallum
Mrs C Newnam
Mrs K Pratt
Councillor Richardson
Mr D F Starr
Dr N Thorpe

Clerk to Governors:
Mr M White, Tilly, Bailey and Irvine, 8 Newgate, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 8NG.

The Chairman of Governors may be contacted via the School. Any written correspondence should be marked 'Private and Confidential'. It will be forwarded to him at the earliest convenience.

The Governing Body comprises Foundation Governors and Nominated Governors. The appointment of a Foundation Governor is made by the Governors at a special meeting and is usually for a five year term. Nominated Governors must be appointed as follows: one by the County Council of Durham, one by the Old Barnardians' Club, one by the Senate of Newcastle University and one by the Senate of Durham University.

The full Governing Body meets at least once each term. The Sub-Committees of Education & Welfare, House & Finance and Estates & Devleopment all meet at least termly.