The Governing Body comprises Foundation Governors and Nominated Governors. The appointment of a Foundation Governor is made by the Governors at a special meeting and is usually for a five-year term. Nominated Governors must be appointed as follows: one by the County Council of Durham, one by the Old Barnardians’ Club, one by the Senate of Newcastle University and one by the Senate of Durham University.

The full Governing Body meets at least once each term. The Sub-Committees of Education & Welfare, House & Finance and Estates & Development all meet at least termly.


Mr A Fielder

Vice Chairs:

Mrs C J Sunley JP and Mr P Mothersill

Chair of House & Finance sub-committee:

Mrs C Sunley

Chair of Education & Welfare sub-committee:

Mrs R Dent JP

Chair of Estates & Development sub-committee:

Mr D C Osborne
Mr M Airey
Mr S Crowe
Mr C Dennis
Dr J Elphick
Mr B Hick
Mr P Hodges
Mr M McCallum
Mrs C Newnam
Mrs K Pratt
Councillor Richardson
Mr D F Starr
Dr N Thorpe
Clerk to Governors: Mr M White, Tilly, Bailey and Irvine, 8 Newgate, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 8NG.
The Chairman of Governors may be contacted via the School. Any written correspondence should be marked ‘Private and Confidential’ and will be forwarded to him at the earliest convenience.


The governing body includes a suitable range of skills and experience which enables support for the pupils’ excellent personal development and their good achievement.” Independent Schools Inspectorate, 2016

Latest News

Young Writers

Last term, pupils in Year 8 produced short mini sagas in their English lessons for the Young ...
Read More »